Submit a Review Here for Costa Rica TEFL, Samara Beach & Heredia

Costa Rica TEFL offers English teacher training courses in two beautiful cities - Samara Beach on the Pacific Coast, and the colonial city of Heredia in north-central Costa Rica. Our 4-week TEFL Certificate program consists of 40 hours per week, 160 hours in total.
Email: Contact us here     ( or request a callback ).
Programs / Courses:
4-week TEFL English Teacher Training Certificate Program: ; - 40 hours per week, 160 hours in total ; - Modules include: lesson planning, observed practice teaching, peer observation, feedback sessions, and job placement assistance. ; - Trainees will be evaluated throughout the course on their general performance in class, lesson plans, application of methodologies and feedback, and final observed teaching hours.
Micah Thompson ; from Texas, United States
(2014-04-17  12:18:56)
 (Highly Recommended)
What an amazing experience! The Costa Rica TEFL program I did was wonderful. The teachers, facility and trainer were all aces. Could not have asked for a better way to be prepared for teaching English. The Sámara location is incredible. Don't delay improving your life. Get certified by Costa Rica TEFL and get crackin' on seeing the world. Highly Recommended!!
Anna Ruth ; from Costa Rica
(2014-02-25  19:10:14)
 (Highly Recommended)
this program has a great, passionate staff who teach excellently. It is also in an excellent location. The best part is being able to teach different levels of English classes to use the skills when teaching on your own after graduating from the course.
Mike Perras ; from Long Beach, CA
(2013-01-22  20:41:53)
 (Highly Recommended)
Everything about this program was top notch! The instructors, administrators, classrooms, curriculum, resources, the location, fellow students. I mean EVERYTHING.

I've read the above reviews and can agree with everything they have to say. I already had earned three college degrees and had ten years teaching experience, but needed a refresher course before applying for jobs.

This was perfect. We were challenged. We were supported. We started teaching the first week and provided with all the help and resources to take on every challenge.

I can't say enough about the instructors! Professional. Knowledgable. Committed. I pray that I can become as good a teacher as these!

The course was incredible. If you can take on a challenge and push through four weeks, you will be rewarded. And, in Samara---you WILL have fun :>)

You do get free time and I cannot think of a cooler place than Samara. Closest thing to paradise I've ever experienced.

Overall, I am so pleased that I selected this very affordable and challenging and fun program. You will be too.
Ben Wilton ; from New Jersey, USA
(2013-01-02  22:10:44)
 (Highly Recommended)
I completed the Costa Rica TEFL course in August of 2012, and I was extremely satisfied with the program. The teacher trainers were passionate, engaging, friendly, and very knowledgable. We worked very hard planning lessons and covering all the material, but we had a lot of fun as well! You get real teaching experience during the first week and throughout the four weeks of training. After the program I was ready to teach, and was able to find a job teaching English in San Jose within one week. The staff was very helpful with assisting me in writing my resume, building my portfolio, and networking with various companies throughout Costa Rica. To top it all off, you couldn’t ask for a better location; Samara is a beautiful town with friendly people and beautiful beaches.
Megan Kennedy ; from New York City, NY
(2012-09-26  16:10:50)
 (Highly Recommended)
I received my TEFL certificate from Costa Rica TEFL and found the program to be both more challenging and rewarding than I was expecting. The classes were intense, the instructors were professional, and the overall experience was outstanding. Shortly after finishing the program I got a job at the National University of Costa Rica in Nicoya--a wonderful job with engaged students. In short: awesome program, awesome staff, awesome experience!
Andrea Venegas ; from San José, Costa Rica
(2012-09-10  01:19:23)
 (Highly Recommended)
When I first started this program I was really nervous for so many things, but especially because I didn’t know basically anything about teaching and it was very difficult to picture myself in front of a class teaching English. But after the first days -if not hours- taking classes with the awesome trainers, I started feeling more comfortable with the idea and actually started thinking of how I was going to use everything I was learning in my own classroom. Without even noticing it I suddenly realized that I had learned a lot and that I felt ready and with enough confidence and tools to teach!

Intensive classes, intensive days... this is how the program works! You just have to enjoy the experience, embrace it, give your best every day even though you are tired, and take advantage of everything it offers. There is always someone you can talk to, ask questions and even work together on your classes, TEFL Costa Rica has a great sense of community and you will feel it from day one.

For me it wasn’t always an easy and natural process since English is my second language, but it was definitely a learning experience that required effort and commitment and I will always be grateful for
the opportunity and the amazing experience.

And if you are out there and still deciding about taking the course, coming to Costa Rica, becoming a teacher... stop thinking and just do it! TEFL Costa Rica in the beautiful Playa Samara is the best way to go, you won’t regret it.
Marcia Toledo ; from Costa Rica
(2012-05-17  20:04:37)
 (Highly Recommended)
For me the Costa Rica TEFL course was such an amazing experience!...As a Costa Rican, I was lucky enough to win a full scholarship to be able to become an EFL teacher!...This is something I always wanted and this course was the tool for me to achieve it!.
As a non-native my experience was really unique. It was hard and intense and for moments I wasn't sure if I was going to make it, but the support, help, willingness and great vibe that I got from the teachers and everyone at Costa Rica TEFL, including my fellow peers, was more than enough to get me through and to enjoy every moment of it!...
By the end of it I honestly didnt want it to be over! I wish we could've had more time!!...
I have a newly found appreciation for teaching as I got so attached to the kids that came to our classes in Samara every week!
Samara was just the icing on the cake! What better place to relax after every intense class and every intense week!
I hope to use this certificate as my ticket to see the world while I improve my teaching skills! And I can definetely say that every single thing I learned I will use!!
I highly recommend this course, I believe its completely organized, well prepared, the staff is amazing, and the experience is just one of a kind!
Thank you Barbara, Kat, Kim and Sonya. Thank you Costa Rica TEFL for one of the best experiences I ever had!!!
Kathryn Parker ; from San Francisco, California
(2011-12-16  13:14:59)
 (Highly Recommended)
I received my TEFL certification through Costa Rica TEFL this past July and I cannot say enough how valuable the experience was for me! The teacher trainers are amazing. They are patient and knowledgeable, but also consistently ensure that the students are having fun. The classes are interesting and interactive and small in size so that each student gets all the support and feedback necessary to develop as a confident and effective teacher. My favorite part of the course was that I got to actually teach EFL classes throughout the month with the help and support of the teacher trainers and my fellow students. This collaborative, hands-on practice allowed me to immediately put to use all of the tools I was learning, become familiar with various levels of students, and also to feel like I was a part of the community in beautiful Samara. I have now been teaching EFL in Costa Rica for six months and loving every minute of it!
Ariele Rosch ; from Costa Rica
(2011-06-03  17:57:08)
 (Highly Recommended)
I completed the Costa Rica TEFL course in April 2010 and have nothing but positive things to say of my experience. The teacher trainers were engaging, energetic and excited for us to learn. They taught the same way we were learning to teach - using different learning styles and keeping us engaged. We did a lot of work and had a lot of fun. Also, we began teaching students the first week - I liked being able to apply what I had learned immediately.

Everyone at Costa Rica TEFL was dedicated to making sure that we succeeded, they really cared and supported me throughout the course.

Also, the location was incredible! Samara is a beautiful beach town with tons of restaurants and friendly people, I loved exploring on the weekends and mornings before class. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in becoming TEFL certified.
Email: Contact us here     ( or request a callback ).
Submit a Review:
Have you taken programs or attended classes at Costa Rica TEFL, Samara Beach & Heredia?
If so, please enter your rating and feedback below and share your experience with others interested in information on the programs offered and quality of service provided.

This is not an inquiry form for admissions! When you click the Submit button, your Review must first be reviewed and approved by an administrator before it can be published on this page shortly afterward.
Your Name *
City, County, State or Country *
Rating *
Review *

(current symbol count: , minimum required: 75)