Diplomatic mission address of the Canadian Embassy in South Africa, consulate address details, Phone number of Canadian Embassy in Pretoria, Cape Town, Johannesburg. Find information on where to go, opening time when to call, how to find the embassy etc.
Search for Schools:

Canadian Embassy for South Africa - Address / Phone Number

Canadian Embassy for South Africa

High Commission of Canada in South Africa

Address: 1103 Arcadia Street, Cnr Hilda Street Hatfield 0083
City: Pretoria (Standard time zone: UTC/GMT +2 hours)
Tel.: 012 422 3000
Fax: 012 422 3052
Emergency tel.: 613-996-8885
Working hours: Monday to Friday, 9.00 – 16.00
Consular hours: Monday to Friday, 9.00 – 12.00 

The High Commission in Pretoria offers a number of services to both Canadians and other citizens. In additions, the high commission covers the countries of Lesotho, Mauritius, Namibia, and Madagascar. Since South Africa's transition from apartheid and its first multi-racial elections in 1994, Canada-South Africa relations have been friendly and cooperative.

The High Commission can assist with the following emergencies:

  • Arrest or Detention
  • Child Abductions
  • Evacuations
  • Natural Disasters and Civil Emergencies
  • Financial Assistance
  • Lost or Stolen Belongings
  • Medical Matters
  • Missing Persons
  • Passport
  • Transportation Accidents

The Consular Section of the High Commission provides a wide range of standard consular services:

  • Passport Services
  • Simplified renewal passport application
  • Citizenship Services
  • Emergency Services
  • Visa Services
  • RCMP Police Clearance/Criminal Record Check
  • Birth, Death and Marriage Certificates
  • Drivers Licence
  • Registration of Canadians Abroad (ROCA)
  • Voting While Abroad
  • Pensions, etc.

Theft or loss of a valid passport must be reported to the police and a police report should be presented when applying for a new passport. Otherwise a passport is applied as normally. When reporting a lost passport to the police it should be noted that a report made by telephone and a registration number given  on the basis of that might not be adequate proof to the insurance company. The report can be made in person at a police station so that a report of the crime is available in writing.

Consular Service Standards:
Canadian Passport - (20 working days)
Temporary Passport - (5 working days)
Canadian Citizenship - (12-16 months)
Canadian drivers licence conversion letters - (24 hours)
Notarial services - (Tuesday and Thursday, Processing time: 3 business days)
Fees fluctuate with the changing exchange rate, which is monitored on a regular basis, and will be updated accordingly.

Canadian consular officials will no longer provide document certification services for the Medical Council of Canada as of May 30, 2014.

Citizens of South Africa, Lesotho, Mauritius, Namibia, and Madagascar require a visa to visit or transit Canada.

To visit Canada, applicants must:

  • have a valid travel document, such as a passport;
  • be in good health;
  • convince an immigration officer that they have ties – such as a job, home, financial assets or family – that will take them back to their home country;
  • convince an immigration officer that they will leave Canada at the end of their visit;
  • have enough money for their stay.

They may also need a:

  • temporary resident (visitor) visa, depending on their citizenship;
  • medical exam;
  • letter of invitation from someone who lives in Canada.

Methods of payment: Credit/Debit: Credit/Debit card payments are processed through an online processing agent. 

If applying from within South Africa:

  • Cash in South African Rands
  • South African Rand bank issued cheque made out to the Canadian High Commission (no personal or business cheques of any kind will be accepted)
  • Canadian dollars in exact cash only

If applying from Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia or Swaziland:

  • Cash in South African Rands
  • Canadian dollars in exact cash only
  • Canadian dollar bank draft made out to the Receiver General for Canada

The High Commission is closed during the following holidays:

  • January 01 - New Year's Day
  • March 21 - Human Rights Day
  • March/April - Good Friday
  • March/April - Easter Monday
  • April 27 - In Lieu of Freedom Day
  • May 19 - Victoria Day
  • June 16 - Youth Day
  • July 01 - Canada Day
  • August 9 - In Lieu of Women’s Day
  • September 01- Labour Day
  • October - Thanksgiving
  • November 11 - Remembrance Day
  • December 25 - Christmas Day
  • December 26 - Boxing Day

This map displays where the Canadian Embassy / Consulate is located in South Africa, Pretoria.

If this location is no longer correct, please submit the exact new address information via our Contact page. If the map does not load for you, try opening this page on another web browser.

Sponsored Links
Traveler's Guide
Sponsored Links