Diplomatic mission address of the Australian Embassy in South Africa, consulate address details, Phone number of Australian Embassy in Pretoria, Cape Town, Johannesburg. Find information on where to go, opening time when to call, how to find the embassy etc.
Search for Schools:

Australian Embassy for South Africa - Address / Phone Number

Australian Embassy for South Africa

Australian High Commission in South Africa

Address: 292 Orient Street, Cnr Schoeman StreetArcadia0083
City: Pretoria (Standard time zone: UTC/GMT +2 hours)
Tel.: 012 423 6000
Fax: 012 342 8442
Working hours: Monday to Friday, 8.00 - 16.10
Jurisdiction: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland 

Australia is committed to working with the countries of southern Africa as a friend and partner, not only to address some of the continent's development challenges, but also to help those countries reach their full potential. Australia is an innovative and dynamic country with a strong economy, a diverse and multicultural society, a wealth of natural wonders and a commitment to forging positive partnership with countries around the globe. Registering with the High Commission is beneficial and easy. The registration information provided by the applicant will help the High Commission to find him/her in an emergency. It may also be used to pass other information to you such as new Travel Advisories, notice of elections, and important information relevant to travellers and expatriates.

The Consular Section provides consular assistance to Australian citizens and permanent residents travelling or living abroad through our offices in Australia and diplomatic missions (embassies, high commissions, consulates) overseas. The capacity to assist one is influenced by local laws and conditions, international rules governing consular work, and by the cooperation offered by persons and organisations outside the Australian Government.

The role includes:

  • providing one with prompt, effective and courteous consular service
  • ensuring the High Commission has trained and dedicated staff to assist
  • advising you of the services provided and not provided and the fees and charges that apply
  • protecting one's privacy in accordance with Australian law
  • maintaining collaborative working relations with other government and non-government agencies to facilitate effective consular and crisis-related assistance.

Applying for a passport:
Please note that there is no priority processing service offered at the Pretoria Passport Office. 

The applicant will need an appointment to lodge your Australian passport application in Pretoria. Applications may be lodged between 9.00 -12.30 Monday to Friday. Passport applications by post/courier to the High Commission will no longer be encouraged due to upcoming proposed passport policy changes. Should one wish to submit the passport application by post/courier, please contact the High Commission to allow a passport officer to assess the eligibility to do so.

In the event of a lost or stolen passport one should:

  • Report the loss of your passport immediately to the Australian High Commission in Pretoria.
  • Obtain an official police report from the local police station
  • Complete and submit an Australian Passport Application PC8 form.

PLEASE NOTE: Those applicants wishing to lodge an application to replace a lost or stolen passport will be required to pay an additional fee. There are no exceptions. Fees may be paid by credit card, cash or electronic transfer.

Australian citizens are highly encouraged to register with the High Commission. The registration information you provide will help the High Commission to contact or find you in an emergency - whether it is a natural disaster, civil disturbance or family emergency. It may also be used to pass other information to you such as important travel advice updates, notice of elections and information on other matters relevant to travellers and expatriates.

The High Commission is closed on the following holidays:

  • 1 January - New Year's Day
  • 27 January - Australia Day
  • 21 March - Human Rights Day
  • March/April - Good Friday
  • March/April - Easter Monday
  • 1 May - Worker's Day
  • 16 June - Youth Day
  • 29 September - Australian Family & Community Day
  • 6 October - Labour Day
  • 24 December - Additional DFAT holiday
  • 25 December - Christmas Day
  • 26 December - Boxing Day
  • 29 December - Additional DFAT Holiday
  • 30 December - Additional DFAT Holiday

This map displays where the Australian Embassy / Consulate is located in South Africa, Pretoria.

If this location is no longer correct, please submit the exact new address information via our Contact page. If the map does not load for you, try opening this page on another web browser.

Traveler's Guide
Sponsored Links