×

Reviews of Durban Language Centre

Durban Language Centre (DLC) provides specialised English language courses and language teacher training in Durban city, in KwaZulu-Natal province on the east coast of South Africa. Part-time, full-time & weekend courses are available for adults (18+).
Email: Contact us here 

( or request a callback ).
Programs / Courses:
- General English language courses: These are for Elementary, Pre Intermediate, Intermediate, Upper Intermediate or Advanced students. ; - Exam Preparation courses including: IELTS preparation course, medical board exams, international job placement tests, or emigration to Australia and New Zealand. ; - Business English language classes ; - Academic English language course ; - Aviation English language course ; - We also offer specialised teacher training courses: Cambridge CELTA and TEFL.
Dominique G. Ingala ; from Durban, South Africa
(2011-09-21  08:30:58)
 (Highly Recommended)
Wow! DLC IS THE BEST. I was learning English at DLC between february 2009 and may 2009. It was really a new language for me since I've never spoken such a language before. When I arrived in South Africa in early february 2009, I was very sad. Guess why? Language barrier. I wasn't able to understand, nor to speak. But just after 3 months, my english reached an appreciable level in a point that I felt confident to start university studies. Let me tell you that my academic progress was satisfactory. All my basic needs (vocabulary, grammar, writing, speaking and listening capabilities,. ..) were covered with DLC. At DLC I felt at home: everyone is friend of evefyone. People always smile. Ladies are too beautiful (lol). Men are cool... I positively loved the competence of DLC staff. They've got several teaching methods. The school has variety of didactical tools. Also, DLC is not just a language center, but a multicultural center. I met people from every corner of the world. I learnt about South Africa, Brazil, Lybia, Russia, Correa, Croatia, Argentina, etc. DLC IS THE BEST.
Ruiko Shimizu ; from Nagoya, JAPAN
(2011-09-17  12:40:45)
 (Highly Recommended)
I like DLC very much!

I was in the intermediate class, and the advanced class. I think that it is very helpful to everyday life since the curriculum of this school maintains balance and covers it from the foundation to advanced skill. And I like teachers;) They always give the happy class to us. In my opinion, we have very strict classes in Japan, so, to be honest, I was surprised at my first lesson. Because it was absolutely fun!

I have had a very good experience with them; learn English and different culture(we had a cultural lunch as well!), and make friends.

I really appreciate all their help. I could not have done it without them.
Dominique Guelord Ingala from Congo ; from Durban, SA
(2011-09-16  06:37:57)
 (Bad)
Wow! DLC IS THE BEST. I was learning English at DLC between february 2009 and may 2009. It was really a new language for me since I've never spoken such a language before. When I arrived in South Africa in early february 2009, I was very sad. Guess why? Language barrier. I wasn't able to understand, nor to speak. But just after 3 months, my english reached an appreciable level in a point that I felt confident to start university studies. Let me tell you that my academic progress was satisfactory. All my basic needs (vocabulary, grammar, writing, speaking and listening capabilities,...) were covered with DLC. At DLC I felt at home: everyone is friend of evefyone. People always smile. Ladies are too beautiful (lol). Men are cool... I positively loved the competence of DLC staff. They've got several teaching methods. The school has variety of didactical tools. Also, DLC is not just a language center, but a multicultural center. I met people from every corner of the world. I learnt about South Africa, Brazil, Lybia, Russia, Correa, Croatia, Argentina, etc. DLC IS THE BEST.
Wow! DLC IS THE BEST. I was learning English at DLC between february 2009 and may 2009. It was really a new language for me since I've never spoken such a language before. When I arrived in South Africa in early february 2009, I was very sad. Guess why? Language barrier. I wasn't able to understand, nor to speak. But just after 3 months, my english reached an appreciable level in a point that I felt confident to start university studies. Let me tell you that my academic progress was satisfactory. All my basic needs (vocabulary, grammar, writing, speaking and listening capabilities,...) were covered with DLC. At DLC I felt at home: everyone is friend of evefyone. People always smile. Ladies are too beautiful (lol). Men are cool... I positively loved the competence of DLC staff. They've got several teaching methods. The school has variety of didactical tools. Also, DLC is not just a language center, but a multicultural center. I met people from every corner of the world. I learnt about South Africa, Brazil, Lybia, Russia, Correa, Croatia, Argentina, etc. DLC IS THE BEST.
An, Hyun June ; from Seoul, South Korea
(2011-09-16  04:10:09)
 (Good)
DLC, Durban, South Africa.

I definitely can tell you here's the best place to learn english.
I was there in 2009, around 3 month. After that I moved to cape town also and England.
So I can compare how to teach and how to communicate with students.

DLC is quite small size of language centre. but I love it.
cus teachers can care about you more carefully and more deeply. of course, you will have many chances to learn and experiences about SA things and various activity. Like.. braii or ..surfing with classmates and teacher, cultural lunch etc.
also location also great. I remember that .. there's a flea market very near by DLC.

Teachers also nice.
When I was in Cape town or.. England. I felt some teachers hadn't prepared their lecture. they just come and talk, give some papers and homeworks, and make their students talk. But It never happend at DLC also I never experience.

Especially, I strongly recommends for asian people who want to study english.
I am not sure .. nowadays but in 2009, there were very few asian so.. I can more concentrate on studying english.

anyway . I've been to some language centers but can't find better place than here !
I still miss everything in there.
Email: Contact us here 

( or request a callback ).
Submit a Review:
Have you taken programs or attended classes at Durban Language Centre?
If so, please enter your rating and feedback below and share your experience with others interested in information on the programs offered and quality of service provided.

This is not an inquiry form for admissions! When you click the Submit button, your Review must first be reviewed and approved by an administrator before it can be published on this page shortly afterward.
Your Name *
City, County, State or Country *
Rating *
Review *

(current symbol count: , minimum required: 75)