×
Enter a course name, school type and location:

Reviews of Atlantic School of English & Active Leisure, Cork

Atlantic School of English & Active Leisure is a small, accredited English language school in the village of Schull in West Cork, South-West Ireland. We offer a range of year-round English courses to adult students (18+), as well as summer courses for juniors & teenagers (from 3-17 years old) from around the world.
Email: Contact us here 

( or request a callback ).
Programs / Courses:
English for Beginners to Advanced learners: ; • General English ; • Cambridge FCE, CAE, CPE exam preparation (12 weeks for EEA students)  • Cambridge FCE, CAE & IELTS exam preparation (25 weeks for non-EEA students)  • Private & Semi-Private English lessons ; • Business English courses ; • 1-Week English course ; • English Plus Golf ; • Homestay with teacher / family ; • Year-round & Summer English courses for juniors & teenagers (ages 3-8, 9-12, 13-17) ; • TEFL / TESOL teacher training ; Live with an Irish family or in a holiday home by the sea or in the countryside.
silvia ; from Italy
(2016-03-15  03:41:56)
 (Highly Recommended)
In 2012 I worked for the school as part of the Leonardo project. It was one of the greatest experiences of my life. The stuff was excellent, the teachers were great, the place is fantastic, Barbara really cares for everyone entering the door of her learning centre. I was so happy to spend my days working for this project and Atlantic school. It was great! When I had to leave I was so sad... For this reason I am still in contact with Barbara and hope to go back there someday!! If you are looking for something special, this is THE place!!
Gavin O'Neill ; from Pennsylvania, USA
(2016-03-11  12:41:31)
 (Highly Recommended)
I attended Atlantic's teacher training short course in March of 2015. The experience from start to finish was excellent. The course curriculum was exactly what I was looking for. Atlantic's staff went out of their way to modify the schedule to cater to my goals for the course. My only regret is that I didn't stay longer!
Deirdre Flannery ; from from Ireland
(2011-04-19  04:10:14)
 (Highly Recommended)
Having completed theTESOL teacher training course at Atlantic SEAL, I know it's one of the best things I've ever done. I met wonderful people there who never failed to be motivational and supportive. The course itself was well-structured, highly informative and not only that; I enjoyed it immensely. The location was ideal to really immerse yourself in the course and still have time to enjoy the odd hike and a beer in one of the local pubs. The staff were amazing and provided useful feedback and tips. I remember being a nervous wreck before my first teaching observation, but by the end of the course I had gained so much confidence.

Since leaving Schull, I've been teaching English in Greece and I also worked for a publishing company writing English language books, which goes to show there are other possibilities, too. I returned to full-time teaching though since I find the interactive nature of it all the more satisfying.

I highly recommend Atlantic SEAL to any prospective student or teacher. You will find the welcoming environment both stimulating and rewarding. Barbara and her staff demonstrate a genuine interest in each and every individual. I hope to return to Schull for a visit before long.
To Barbara, Pat and Peter: I hope you are all keeping well!
Antonio López ; from Spain
(2011-03-29  05:39:09)
 (Highly Recommended)
I have been in Schull twice during the year 2009, all positive, teachers, they teach in and out the school, level fits your needs, environment, activities, the people in Schull is simply enchanting, you will get advance your English and you will return for something more to learn the language.
Ricardo Zamora ; from Spain
(2011-03-18  04:08:23)
 (Highly Recommended)
Some years ago I went with my wife and three children to Schull in summer. The idea was to learn English at the same time we spent a family holidays. Barbara was great. She took care of all our needs from house to tuition or activities. She was really helpful. We spent there one of our nicest holidays plenty of experiences, tourism, family activities, Guinness beers at local pubs, etc.
And not the most important but very important, the school was without doubt the best we have ever had. After that we went to Canada twice and California the following three summers. Nothing comparable. Small classes, good books (the bests), god teachers, good balance between tuition and breaks, social activities, etc.
Excellent!
Dieter and Elvira Ortner-Lorenzi ; from Vienna, Austria
(2011-03-17  12:08:24)
 (Highly Recommended)
In summer 2010 we joined a course of English at Atlantic SEAL in Schull. Schull is a lovely little fishing village in the South-West-End of Ireland with kind people, nice pubs and it is embedded in a beautiful landscape. The teaching is done by competent teachers and the management is doing its best to make the students fine and content. The school provides different kinds of leisure activities such as canoeing, sailing and organizes excursions to interesting places around Schull. We are looking forward to return to Schull in summer 2011.
Matteo Radice ; from Milan, Italy
(2011-03-17  06:30:05)
 (Highly Recommended)
I've attended the Atlantic School courses for two years, and I can truly say that It has been the most beautiful experience I've ever had!!
If you join the SEAL, you will not just have a great time in one of the most extraordinary places in ireland, you will also become part of a great family, which has members all over the world. as far as I'm concerned, I can say that this is something that everyone has to do one day or another, because it allows you to keep in touch with the genuine part of Ireland, where hospitality does not mean spend some time with an alien family, but it means live great part of the holiday wih them; become part of their way of live......I had such a wonderful time with my host family to consider them a second family!! I saw the real Ireland (real in all meanings) thanks to my host family.
And what can I say about the School itself? Well.........it's simply fantastic!!
even someone who can't say "my name is...." is able to learn English in a few lessons, with SEAL's staff and that's not even the core of the SEAL phylosophy!! In fact I think that the most important letters of the word SEAL, are A and L: Active Leasure. That is the real core of the expirience, what can make you able to bind you with new friends (I'm still keepin' in touch with mine), have a great time with the staff itself and set Ireland in your heart.
So if you want to learn the language, love the leasure and live the life, go straight to Barbara Connelly and her gang....You won't regret it!!
Colm Flood ; from Ireland
(2011-03-14  15:30:47)
 (Highly Recommended)
I completed the TESOL teacher training course at Atlantic SEAL and taught English in Spain for a year after taking the course. The course is excellent - the staff really know their stuff and I genuinely felt well prepared for teaching in a TESOL environment. The course provided a sound theoretical basis and practical experience for teaching. Furthermore, the location of the school is absolutely stunning, and is the ideal location to train and to soak up culture!
Email: Contact us here 

( or request a callback ).
Submit a Review:
Have you taken programs or attended classes at Atlantic School of English & Active Leisure, Cork?
If so, please enter your rating and feedback below and share your experience with others interested in information on the programs offered and quality of service provided.

This is not an inquiry form for admissions! When you click the Submit button, your Review must first be reviewed and approved by an administrator before it can be published on this page shortly afterward.
Your Name *
City, County, State or Country *
Rating *
Review *

(current symbol count: , minimum required: 75)