Submit a Review Here for Parfum De France

Parfum de France is a French language school located in the historical village of Fontevraud L'Abbaye in Western Loire, in the historic heart of France. The Loire Valley is situated in the west-center region, 2 hours southwest of Paris, and north of Bordeaux, in between the towns of Tours and Blois.
Email: Contact us here     ( or request a callback ).
Programs / Courses:
- Individual French Tuition Courses ; - Couples' Intensive French Courses ; - Friends / Family / Small Group French Programmes ; - Small Group Theme French Courses ; - French Course for Professional Use ; - French Course for Loire Valley Residents
Pat W ; from West Chiltington Uk
(2016-10-09  10:46:26)
 (Highly Recommended)
My requirement for my week at La Samsonelle wasn't solely to do French classes. Whilst I was hoping to practise my French I was also keen to get out and about and do some art. I was very grateful to Sylvie for understanding exactly what I wanted from my holiday and I enjoyed some great outings with the group, where I spoke more French than I realised I knew; and with the Abbey just down the road I couldn't have wished for a more inspiring location for getting out my paints. Sylvie's enthusiasm and attention to detail are the special ingredient which make a stay with her very special.
Dorothy L ; from St. Albert, AB, Canada
(2016-03-04  11:03:56)
 (Highly Recommended)
My journey to learn French began in earnest 6 years ago. I first tried a school in France that was just that - a school. I was in France and learning but it did not provide the opportunity to engaged with the culture. At Parfum de France, Sylvie ensures that I am not just 'a student'; I am a guest! The visits to vineyards, chateaus, musical and other cultural events that Sylvie arranges (all in French) result in my learning experience becoming a true "holiday" experience as well! Sylvie arranges dinners with her French english students and other members of her community. I have met so many interesting people and made new friends I still stay in contact with. I highly recommend Parfum de France - I have spent my last three yearly vacations with Sylvie and plan to return - each time Sylvie plans an itinerary just for me with new events, sites to see and also progress in my french learning!
Sandra ; from Australia
(2016-02-12  20:04:16)
 (Highly Recommended)
I attended an intensive course with Sylvie for a week in January. She is a very talented teacher who dramatically improved my basic French comprehension and expression. All the accommodation options are extremely comfortable. Sylvie arranged a number of extremely enjoyable tourist and social activities where I was able to utilise my growing French language skills.

If you are looking to experience both the local tourist highlights (of which there are many) and a taste of real French life then I would strongly recommend this school.
I plan to return in the future.
Hervé Chaudron ; from Saumur, France
(2016-02-08  12:15:40)
 (Highly Recommended)
Sylvie is the best english teacher I've ever had. With her I could re-learn the actual idiomatics expressions, the phrasal verbs, the grammar and a lot of vocabulary.
Wether I don't speak english fluently now is my own fault : I haven't worked enough !
Lynda Craymer ; from Cheshire UK
(2016-02-04  06:27:11)
 (Highly Recommended)
Jai passé une semaine avec deux amies chez Sylvie l'été dernier et nous avons été très impressionnées. En tant que Prof, Sylvie prépare très bien ses leçons qui étaient vraiment stimulantes et exactement à notre niveau. Nous avons passé deux semaines très agréables et de plus, nous avons appris un tas de choses. Pour parler une langue étrangère, il faut avoir beaucoup de confiance en soi et Sylvie nous en a donné.
Each afternoon we visited wonderful chateaux, gardens, vineyards and met Sylvie’s friends so we were able to speak French all the time. Every minute was action packed, great fun and I thoroughly recommend the experience
Einar Vikingur ; from Western Australia
(2015-06-05  00:12:54)
 (Highly Recommended)
Sylvie quickly figured out my level, and adapted to it. She also devised a programme, using a couple of clever devices, which required me to work hard to prepare, and then to work hard during my lessons - but we never failed to have fun at the same time. I felt all this enabled me to get a lot of value out of the time. Sylvie also organised two conversation sessions with another student and even an afternoon tea, all of which stretched my execrable French beyond its limits!
My wife and I stayed at the gîte for three weeks, which was a perfect base for both French and the Loire region.
Ian Moore ; from France
(2015-05-26  11:42:13)
 (Highly Recommended)
I can't recommend Sylvie's immersion course highly enough. My French is 'ok' but what I lack is the confidence to try and Sylvie and Mark's very relaxed nature meant that I gained that confidence as well as greatly improving my language skills.

Not only that, they are in such a beautiful location that it genuinely feels like a proper holiday and not a 'course' as such. A great week!
Pat McCarthy ; from South Wales
(2014-09-24  10:14:49)
 (Highly Recommended)
The course with Sylvie was excellent. The combination of lessons and tours worked well and the opportunity to meet other french speakers outside the classroom gave a small insight into life in France. It was also a real pleasure to meet Sylvie's family.
I have attended other courses but this one surpassed all my expectations.
I will return.
Dorothy Lowrie ; from Edmonton, AB Canada
(2014-07-12  23:56:18)
 (Highly Recommended)
This is my 2nd time for a two week French 'immersion' with Sylvie. Sylvie ensured that since I had been before, I had the opportunity to experience new areas of the region during our tours. I also was able to build on my previous course work.

I really recommend this experience for what is for me a 'learning holiday'. It is a chance to not only work on your fluency in the French language but also to experience the culture and community as well.

And even after being twice....I still have not seen all the lovely chateaus and picturesque villages that are full of history in this lovely region of France!
Betty H. ; from Canada
(2014-07-04  11:02:39)
 (Highly Recommended)
I highly enjoyed the two week french immersion program I took at Parfum de France this past June. I can honestly say that Sylvie did her best to make the program interesting and that she was successful.
In my opinion the diverse program was key to its’ success. The morning lessons were well prepared and tailored to our needs. The afternoon outings in the community were fun and yet the variety of vocabulary required was a challenge that I enjoyed trying to meet.
Sally fairer ; from Uk
(2014-04-13  15:57:15)
 (Highly Recommended)
I have just spent three days with Sylvie trying to get to grips with French. She makes learning such fun, she is so encouraging and patient and her kindness is beyond believe. I had the most wonderful time and now feel so positive about continuing with my studies.
Amanda Currie ; from New Zealand
(2013-10-26  19:26:57)
 (Highly Recommended)
My three sons and I spent two weeks with Sylvie, having lessons each day. We stayed in her lovely Gite. And hired biles so that we could travel around the local area. In the lessons Sylvie was excellent at coping with the different levels and abilities in our family and keeping the younger boys interested in French. We all made a lot of progress and gained confidence in speaking French. I would highly recommend this type of holiday if you wish to improve your French and have a great stay at the same time.
Dorothy L. ; from Canada
(2013-08-06  15:45:33)
 (Highly Recommended)
Sylvie is an excellent instructor - she works with you to identify your strengths and weaknesses! Sylvie uses a variety in the methods of learning to appeal to all and I found I really progressed during my two weeks with her. As hosts, Mark and Sylvie are excellent and I really enjoyed having the guided tours of wineries, chateaus, the Abbaye and area. A very good balance of tours with others and on my own. I really suggest this format of learning plus exploring for anyone travelling on their own! It is a great location as well, close to the train station in Saumur and only 20 mins by train to the larger town of Angers, both of which are delightful. And I cannot say enough about Fontevaud itself; everyone is so friendly and I did not hesitate once to speak french with the locals who are very helpful and supportive! I will go back!
Jackie Lawton ; from South Yorkshire, England
(2013-07-23  13:37:59)
 (Highly Recommended)
I attended a one week course (intermediate level) with Sylvie in May of this year (2013) and found it thoroughly enjoyable. The total immersion classes met my expectations, including the grammar points, the vocabulary, and the conversational french. I also enjoyed the excursions to local vineyards, restaurants, and above all to see le Cadre Noir. I hope to return again.
Krista Garcia ; from Napa ,California
(2013-01-11  15:01:03)
 (Highly Recommended)
Sylvie is an excellent language teacher and a wonderful person. I learned so much in the two weeks that I took courses with her, many of which were private. The group classes are fun as well, and you can test your knowledge among others in a friendly and supportive environment. I can't wait to go back!!
richard erskine ; from Australia
(2013-01-09  19:21:23)
 (Highly Recommended)
Sylvie runs a most proffesionlal French language course. Whether you are a bigginer like me or much more advanvanced like my wife, the outcome of learning bothin grammar and spoken is excellent. We also satyed in their Gite which is next door, that too was delightful.
sheila rogers ; from canada
(2012-11-02  00:28:53)
 (Highly Recommended)
I had been looking for an opportunity to practice speaking French, and I am very happy that I found Parfum de France. I was fortunate to be able to stay with Sylvie Reeves and her husband Mark, on a Bed and Breakfast basis, from October 12 to 16, 2012.
During my stay, I spent time in classes with other students in the intermediate level. As well, I had individual class time with Sylvie. These times we discussed, intensively, (toujours en francais) French culture, arts, customs, food, politics, and history.
Excursions with Sylvie were always interesting, informative and great fun. We toured L'Abbaye Fontevraud, which is near her home. Along with other class members we visited a local vineyard and had an afternoon wine tasting. We also had a gourmet meal with neighbours.
I was sorry when it came time to leave. I felt comfortable and welcomed in all aspects of Sylvie's French classes. Whether you are just beginning, or your goal is to improve speaking French, you will be glad that you enrolled in Parfum de France.
Diana Porter ; from Helens Bay Northern Ireland
(2011-10-20  07:05:15)
 (Highly Recommended)
I attended a course this summer with Sylvie. She is a delight, always smiling yet I must have sent her mad at times. The course combined learning in a classroom situation one to one and really lovely visits around some of the wonderful sites in this region.
The course was very well run and Mark, Sylvie and her family all made me feel very welcome.
Anna Romaniecka ; from Poland
(2011-10-16  14:17:52)
 (Highly Recommended)
I've been hosted by Sylvie and Mark for two weeks summer 2011. Accommodation was great - highly comfortable gite, with stylish interiors. I enjoyed being independent (own kitchen, bathroom etc) yet still close to nice hosts.
I went there for two weeks of intensive immersion French course. Eventually I've had my momentum and now I am not not stressed to speak French. I knew a lot but as a perfectionist, I was afraid to make mistakes while speaking. It has changed so much :-) I do enjoy French culture, songs, people etc. more than ever.
Sylvie is very good teacher, with enormous amount of patience and great sense of humour. She gave me a lot of smart hints to overcome certain language problems.

I highly recommend the place and the teacher! You will enjoy developping your language skills surrounded by friendly poeple, historic sites and beautiful landscapes of Loire, vignobles et chataux!
I would love to come back there again!
Almarie Hugo ; from Rep of South Africa
(2011-10-10  10:08:53)
 (Highly Recommended)
Our hosts Mark and Sylvie were most entertaining and very attentive. We felt so welcome and the language classes were well structured and very informative. We enjoyed our excursions in the afternoons and that helped us a lot to use French language. This course and gite we stayed in are highly recommended.
Email: Contact us here     ( or request a callback ).
Submit a Review:
Have you taken programs or attended classes at Parfum De France?
If so, please enter your rating and feedback below and share your experience with others interested in information on the programs offered and quality of service provided.

This is not an inquiry form for admissions! When you click the Submit button, your Review must first be reviewed and approved by an administrator before it can be published on this page shortly afterward.
Your Name *
City, County, State or Country *
Rating *
Review *

(current symbol count: , minimum required: 75)